5 Love Languages And Everything You Should Know About It!

5 Love Languages - Wedding Affair

Loving your partner is important but loving them in their love language is more important. You may express all your love to your partner but they still have complaints about not feeling completely loved by you. If this situation looks familiar to you then this article will help you a lot to understand the dynamics of your relationship. To get to know what is your partner’s love languages, you need to first understand what love language is. 

What is love Language? 

Love Languages

The term love language refers to the way that a person prefers to express love to—and receive it from—a partner. This term was coined by author and counsellor Dr. Gary Chapman. In simple words, love language is the way of expressing love to your significant other through a medium. That medium can be both tangible and intangible. Discovering your own and your partner’s primary love language is important and speaking that language regularly may foster a better understanding of each other’s needs and support each other’s growth.

Break Down Of 5 Love Languages 

5 Love Languages

Dr. Gary Chapman proposed five specific love languages. Everyone can relate to all these love languages but there is one specific love language that speaks to us the most. Get to know your and your partner’s love language and speak to them in the love they require. The five love languages proposed by Dr. Gary Chapman are: 

  1. Words Of Affirmation 
  2. Quality Time 
  3. Acts Of Services 
  4. Gifts 
  5. Physical Touch 
  • Words Of Affirmation 

Words Of Affirmation

People who constantly crave words to understand others and to be understood by others are the ones with ‘Words Of Affirmation’ as their love language. Words of affirmation as a love language value verbal acknowledgements of affection. Words of affirmation include ‘I love you’s, compliments, appreciation through words, verbal encouragement and digital communication like texting and social media engagement. Letting your partner know frequently that you love them and why you love them will erase all their insecurities. If your partner puts effort into dressing up for you, acknowledge their efforts by complimenting them. Appreciate their efforts big or small through words. Don’t ignore hard talks and often indulge in talking about issues that matter to you as a couple. 

  • Quality Time 

Quality Time

People who have ‘Quality Time’ as their love language want to spend time with their partners and appreciate it when their partner actively wants to spend time with them or is always down to hang out with them. The complete presence of the person, active listening, and sharing time are the highlights of this love language. Their love language is receiving undivided attention away from TV screens, phone screens or any other outside interference from their significant other. They look forward to actively spending time with their partner, having meaningful conversations about their relationship like where is the relationship moving ahead, what improvisations can be done to make the relationship much stronger, working out on each other’s flaws and sharing recreational activities. 

  • Acts Of Service 

Acts Of Service

If someone’s love language is ‘Acts of service’ this means they love when their partner takes care of them or does things to make their life easier. This love language literally includes acts of service or small gestures like bringing them coffee, making soup when the other partner is sick, and doing their chores when they are busy in a meeting. People who have acts of service as their language believe actions speak louder than words. These people like to witness things rather than to hear them. They will choose to see you do things rather than to see you make some casual promises. Small acts like helping with the chores or tasks, paying attention to smaller details and helping the partner even if they didn’t ask to make them feel taken care of. The love language ‘Acts of service’ is a difficult one to understand. First, you need to acknowledge your partner’s love language i.e. acts of service. Communicate and ask them how they like to be taken care of and gradually do those things for them. 

  • Gifts 


Who doesn’t like to receive gifts, right? A very significant love language is giving and receiving ‘gifts’. People who have received gifts as their love language like to take hold of visual symbols of love. For them, it is not about the monetary value like how much more you have spent on that gift rather it’s about the symbolic thought behind that gift. Giving significant gifts shows how much you know that person, the thought process behind selecting that gift, the emotional benefit from receiving that gift and love reflection. The gift becomes an object that helps you to feel loved and shows you that your partner thinks of you. Those gifts count as the living proof of your love. People whose love language is receiving gifts enjoy being gifted something that is both physical and meaningful. The gratitude that your partner will possess after receiving the gift will make you feel more loved too. It will foster deep love and connections between the two. 

  • Physical Touch 

Physical Touch

People with ‘Physical Touch’ as their love language feel loved when they receive physical signs of affection including kissing, holding hands, caressing the cheeks, cuddling on the couch and having sex. Physical touch as love language is a powerful connector between the two souls. It is incredibly affirming and creates a sense of belonging to the partner. People who have physical touch as their love language appreciate physical touches because of their past. The roots go back to their childhood, some people felt a deep connection with their parents only when they were held, kissed or touched. These people love the feeling of warmth and comfort that comes with physical touch. This love language is straightforward, easy to do and does not require a lot of planning. For people with physical touch as their love language, tender caresses and physical affection are everything. 


Everyone has their way of expressing love and understanding. For a better functioning of your relationship, all you need to do is understand your partner’s love language and try to reciprocate love in their love language. Love languages are important to communicate your love but it should not be the only means of happiness, instead, it should act like a helping hand to foster love, warmth and comfort in your relationship.